Our Story

       Pasadena Alumnae Chapter was installed April 26, 1940 with 23 charter members. Florence Primeaux served as first President. 

       In 1947, PAC inaugurated its annual scholarship auditions, open to students majoring in music in colleges and universities in Southern California. Since its beginning, this effort has presented some 150 scholarships to talented music students. Benefit concerts to support this program have been given by honorary members Eula Beal, Alice Ehlers, Marie Gibson, Susann McDonald, Lois Lynn Rogers, the Schoenfeld Duo, Eudice Shapiro and Lillian Steuber. Our own members have frequently performed for the benefit concert series.

       PAC received the National Alumnae Achievement Award in 1948, 1949, 1970, 1980, 1994 and 1995 and the Delta A Province Achievement Award in 1987, 1997, 2000, 2003 and 2008. It has been recognized at national and province levels for
the excellence of its programs, Yearbooks and the Radio Series, which included 700 consecutive broadcasts.

       In April of 1990, PAC celebrated its Golden Anniversary, and in May 2000 its 60th Anniversary, which was marked with a tea, musicale and presentation of the Community Music Service Award. 2009 is a proud landmark: PAC is seventy years

       The Chapter publishes PasaPipes, a newsletter which has won several national awards. The Chapter has presented its Community Music Service Award to outstanding music leaders and organizations in the Pasadena area. It has served as "big sister" to college chapters at Occidental College, USC Thornton School of Music and CSUN. PAC participated in the national Bold Note Music Transcription Project for 17 years.

       Musical performance is a key to our sisterhood, and PAC members have performed regularly at Delta A Province Days, National Conventions, public musicales, scholarship benefits, retirement homes, hospitals and civic organizations. As a member of Inter-Chapter Council, PAC received recognition for leadership and service for Project Mexico, 1993 and 2000.


Our Members

In total we have 33 Members, including 5 associates.  
They are:
Allen, Kendall A. (President)
Boucher, Shirley
Brow, Gail
Castellanos, Jasmin
Christopher, Sally
Eliason, Lauren
Eshou, Tia
Fay, Fern
Hansen, Leiza
Haycraft, Dr. JoAnn
Hense, Mary S.
Hirlinger, Kristen
Ichino, Estelle
Kuhr, Paula
Lessley, Carolyn
Marshall, Edie
Martin, Nicole
McMurray, Lindsay
Peace, Susanne
Roberts, Maryel
Sabonjohn, Victoria
Shimizu, Margaret
Stong, Jacqueline
Tully, Sandra
Vantassel Martinez, Emily
Wadsworth, Sachi
Watts, Akilah
Yamada, Liska

Dwight, Jacqueline
Lanski, Elizabeth
Michalsky, Marilyn S.
Savarese, Dr. Mary Jane
Wynton, Mary